Dismissal Fees Becoming Illegal In New York

Starting in March 2016, it will be illegal for traffic courts to charge a dismissal fee.   Lawmakers finally realized how unfair it was to allow traffic courts to charge a “processing” fee for cases where the motorist is not guilty.

The law’s sponsor, Democratic Assemblyman Michael DenDekker of Queens, says fining motorists whose violations are dismissed places “an undue burden” on them.  He cites “numerous complaints” where drivers were charged an administrative fee for showing up at traffic court even after their violations were dismissed.

Suffolk County previously charged a “dismissal fee” but voluntarily ended this practice.  Nassau County, however, refuses to rescind this fee despite loud public outcry.  The new law will stop the Nassau County Traffic Violations & Parking Agency from charging its $30.00 dismissal fee per ticket.  Therefore, if you have an open ticket in this court, you can possibly save some money by rescheduling it until March, 2016.

The Nassau County Traffic Violations & Parking Agency also charges a $30 Driver Responsibility Fee (DRF) on any traffic ticket disposed of by plea bargain.  Effective January 1, 2016, the DRF will increase from $30 to $45 for any unresolved ticket.  Violations issued between November 26, 2015 and December 31, 2015, if timely resolved will be eligible for the $30 DRF.   I raise this item because it has been reported that the above new law also prohibits the imposition of fees for plea bargaining to lesser charges.  However, my reading of the law is contrary.

The new law will amend Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 1804 to read:

“No municipality may charge a fine, peaty, forfeiture, or any other fee unless the charge of a violation of any law, rule, or regulation issued pursuant to this chapter results in a conviction or finding of liability.”

Because a plea bargain case results in a conviction (albeit to a lesser charge), my interpretation is that the Nassau TVP&A may still charge the DRF.  However, while the language of the approved law does not address this issue, from notes in the bill signed by Governor Cuomo, it appears that such an amendment will be submitted and approved early next year and, thereby, make Nassau TVP&A’s DRF also illegal.

In sum, at first blush, the new law appears to be a win for motorists saving them the Nassau TP&A’s $15 dismissal fee.  However, it actually can be a negative.  While dismissals for such items as insurance tickets and equipment violations will result in savings, Nassau TVP&A prosecutors may be less likely to offer dismissals for other violations insisting instead on multiple convictions.  Currently, when a motorist is charged with multiple moving violations, one can often obtain a plea offer that dismisses one or more of those charges.  Now, however, the offers may involve less or no dismissals, thereby preserving this court’s ability to charge a DRF.  This may continue until the Legislature amends the law to address extra plea bargain fees.

 

Previous Post
Car Rats Out Its Owner (Leading To Her Arrest)
Next Post
The New York Traffic Diversion Program

Related Posts

No results found.

6 Comments. Leave new

  • Andrew Brooks
    August 1, 2016 4:31 pm

    I paid my Assessment 1 year ago, but didn’t remembered that there was a balance to be paid this year. I moved from my old address and totally forget about the Assessment balance. . I got pulled over coming from work and got arrested, and got slapped with a desk appearance ticket for court. I went ahead and took care of the balance and my court date is in a few days. Will they dismissed the charges based on I took care of the ticket?

    Reply
    • Andrew Brooks,

      It is not likely that this case will be dismissed. At the time of your arrest, you were driving when you knew

        or should have known

      that your license was suspended. This is the critical element in your misdemeanor charge called “Aggravated Unlicensed”. Because this a criminal matter, you should consult with (if not retain) competent counsel.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • As of today, June 15th the nassau county website still list the fee as applicable for any disposition other than not guilty. I have a court date today with proof I am not guilty. I printed a copy of this law out and I am bringing it with me to court. Stay tuned!

    Reply
  • Imagine charging people when they are not guilty? Is that not symbolic of a degraded democratic society that crossed a line? The fact that it is “becoming” shows the culpable revenue desperation, moral bankruptcy and the surrender of any economic growth ideas. THis is so sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu