Blog

Home / Traffic Tickets / Tricks To Avoid A Red Light Camera Ticket
14Feb

Tricks To Avoid A Red Light Camera Ticket

About the Author

Matthew Weiss

Matthew J. Weiss, Esq. graduated Hofstra Law School in 1984. He was Law Review and won the law school’s prestigious Procedure Award. Upon graduation, he became one of the first Hofstra Law School graduates to work at the New York State Court of Appeals (New York State’s highest court) working on various appellate matters.

Comments (189)

Dave - May 3, 2017 5:29 pm

Pursuant to a recent change approved by the Nassau County Legislature, effective January 1, 2016, the Driver Responsibility Fee (DRF) has increased from $30 to $45 for any unresolved ticket or Notice of Liability. Effective January 1, 2017, there will be an additional Public Safety Fee of $55 on any issued ticket or Notice of Liability.

In Nassau county, NY, the “zero-points-$50-ticket” increased to $80, and then $95 in Jan 2016, and $150 in Jan 2017… To further add insult to injury, if you want to make things easy (or can’t find a stamp or a check in the checkbook) you can pay by phone for a $2 fee, or online, for a 5% surcharge on your ticket which works out to $7! If you think that’s bad, wait till they hit you with the $25 bounced check fee and $25 late fees. If you ask for a deferment to pay the ticket because you don’t have $200 available now, you get another $15 fee tacked on to ‘encourage timely payment’. Suddenly that 0.1 second too-slow-left-turn with no oncoming traffic feels like a shark attack.

Of course, if you make money like the 1%, these tickets are probably like mosquito bites.

New York is just getting too greedy for more money and cares more about revenue than keeping the roads safe.

Reply
    Matthew Weiss - May 3, 2017 8:08 pm

    Dave,

    We agree that New York often and unfairly “grabs” money from its residents.

    Matthew Weiss

Peggy - April 24, 2017 7:49 pm

Similar to Timothy Healys post, I got a red light ticket that is $150. the fine is 50, the “driver responsibility fee” is 50 and a public safety fee of 55. Is there anyway to only pay the fine? These fees are absurd.

Reply
    Matthew Weiss - April 25, 2017 8:51 am

    Peggy,

    I wish I could help. All these fees are terrible.

    Matthew Weiss

Edmund P Kaufold - April 8, 2017 10:16 am

Here is my situation. I reside in Florida and I am unemployed, fully retired, collecting social seurity. The State of Florida DMV, charges a $400.00 impact fee for new , first time, registrations and plates on vehicles. When you turn that plate in, and take that vehicle off the road they give you a plate transfer credit receipt, which you can transfer that plate to another vehicle you purchase, and you do not have to pay the $400.00 impact fee, but just a plate tranfer fee, around $75.00. I have 5 plate tranfer credit receipts from 5 vehicles I previously owned. The State of Florida DMV also allows you to transfer these plate tranfer credit receipts to vehicles that you do not own, but are owned by another individual, providing that person agrees to let the person, whose name appears on the plate transfer credit receipt, to also go on their registration. I have 7 children, and 3 of them have my name listed on their registrations, on vehicles that they own, because I let them use my plate transfer credit receipt, to avoid paying the $400.00 dollar impact fee. DMV in Florida, told me that their have not been any problems with doing this. My one son went up to New York to visit his brother, over the past Holidays, and his brother offered him some temporary work while he is there. He is still there and is expected to come back home here to Florida next month. He has been getting these Suffolk County Red Light Camera Citations, but Suffolk County NY, has been charging me for the violations, they said because my name appears first on the Florida Registration. Their law on this states the citation goes to the owner of the vehicle. I explained to them on the phone that I do not own the vehicle, that my name is on the registration along with my Son, only because I allowed my son to use my plate transfer credit receipt, when he purchased the vehicle, to avoid having to have to pay the $400.00 Florida impact fee. Because of using my plate transfer credit receipt, my name has to appear on his registration. I explained that my son should be getting these citations, who’s name is also on the registration, because he is the owner, not me. They said that when there are 2 names on a registration, that the person whose name appears first gets the citation. I told them I live in florida and have not been to New York in over 10 years. My son is driving his vehicle, that he purchased with his own money, he is committing these red light violations in Suffolk County New York, and I am the one, living in Florida, who is being charged and receiving the citations. Yesterday, 4/7/2017, I received his 6th one, none of which I paid, so far and the current total of all of these citations, with late fees is $555.00. Suffolk county has sent me a notice, that a judgement has been filed on me for the first citation I received from my sons violation he committed in January 2017. My son said that he just does not have the money right now to pay me the money for any of these. Florida DMV said that Suffolk County NY could charge the Citations to my son, that is why the registration reads my name or his name. they said that the word (or) in between our names, makes it that either or could be charged. And with me explaining everything to them, they should charge the violations to him, and not to me. I have never received any type of ticket, citation, or even a parking ticket in my life, driving since 16 years old, and now I am 65, years old and retired. And now I am getting Suffolk County NY citations, while I am living retired, in Florida, for violations committed by my son in NY, in the vehicle he owns, that I have nothing to do with except a Florida plate transfer credit piece of paper, and my name appearing first before his name on a registration. My son can do anything he wants with his vehicle, he can sell it if he wants, it belongs to him, i have no money interests at all with his vehicle, he is the owner. I feel this is a direct violation of my constutional rights. Let me know what you think of this unusual situation, I would deeply appreciate it. Thank You

Reply
    Matthew Weiss - April 8, 2017 7:04 pm

    Edmund P Kaufold,

    Because the plate is registered in your name, then you’re liable for these camera tickets. Sorry.

    Matthew Weiss

Timothy Healey - April 6, 2017 11:16 am

I was wondering why my fine for a red light ticket in Nassau county was $50 and $100 dollars for some additional fees making it double the ticket fine. it seems very corrupt to me.

Reply
    Matthew Weiss - April 6, 2017 8:59 pm

    Timothy Healey,

    Sounds like a late fee. Call the court.

    Matthew Weiss

Tyler - March 26, 2017 10:55 am

I was driving and didn’t run the light but I noticed a flash behind me. If I’m given a ticket how would I be able to get out of it?

Reply
    Matthew Weiss - March 26, 2017 9:43 pm

    Tyler,

    If you ran the red light, were not experiencing some emergency and own the vehicle, then you likely cannot get out of it.

    Matthew Weiss

1 3 4 5

Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>