The Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee

204 Comments

On November 18, 2004, then-Governor George Pataki authorized a new fee called the Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee (DRAF). As you will see below, the “fee” is more like a tax on drivers.

The DRAF is imposed upon motorists who accumulate 6 or more points in New York State (and Ontario and Quebec provinces). The fee is in addition to any fine, surcharge, suspension or other penalty imposed by the court, and is billed separately roughly 30 days later by the DMV. The DRAF is imposed upon ALL motorists, even ones from other states, as follows:

6 points = $300

7 points = $375

8 points = $450

9 points = $525

10 points = $600

11 points = $675

12 points = $725

13 points = $800

14 points = $875

For each point in excess of 14, add an additional $75. The DRAF can be paid in one installment or in three equal installments over 3 years.

For motorists who are convicted of a traffic violation that is alcohol-related, drug-related or involves the refusal to take a chemical test, the DRAF is $750.

The biggest issue that arises with the DRAF involves its payment. Many motorists (especially ones with out-of-date addresses with DMV) fail to timely pay the fee and wind up getting suspended. Often they first learn about the unpaid DRAF when they’re pulled over by a police officer. But, by then, they have a more serious issue – defending an additional charge of aggravated unlicensed (misdemeanor). Paying the DRAF is pretty easy as it can be done online at the DMV’s website.

We are regularly asked about the affect of the Driver Safety Program on the DRAF. While the Driver Safety Class removes 4 points from a motorist’s New York record, it will NOT help him or her avoid the DRAF. In order words, the class removes 4 points for purposes of possibly being suspended but not for purposes of whether you owe New York State money. Clearly, then, the goal of driver responsibility is secondary to its fiscal benefits.

Previous Post
What Happens If I Get A NY Traffic Ticket While On Probation?
Next Post
Big Ideas From A Little Man

Related Posts

204 Comments. Leave new

  • Marisa Irabli
    April 28, 2016 3:07 pm

    I am a NJ resident but got a first-offense speeding ticket in NY. Do I have to pay the DRA? I have not paid the ticket yet. I still have about a month to do that.

    Reply
  • Connie Huang
    April 4, 2016 12:45 pm

    Dear Mr Weiss:
    Hi. I am a NY resident & have a NY driver license. I have got a speeding ,careless driving and failure to wearseat tickets in New Jersey with 6 points . I had paid the fine $ 351.
    My question is I do not receive a mail about the DRAF from NY DMV or New Jersey DMV .I want to pay on NT=DMV’s website .But it show me ,I do not owe a DRAF .So am I really no need to pay DRAF ? The DRAF only charge the drivers who get more than 6 points in NYC not in New Jersey ?
    Thank you !

    Reply
    • Connie Huang,

      You will not get any points on your NY license due to these NJ convictions. Therefore, yo will not have to pay a DRAF for these NJ convictions either.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • JAMES HUDSON
    March 23, 2016 3:49 pm

    HOW DO WE FIGHT THIS LAW AND GET IT OFF THE BOOKS BECAUSE ITS A TOTAL FRAUD AND I’M PISSED

    Reply
  • I have a PA license and got a ticket in NY doing 28 over on a highway on a junior license. Got the regular ticket for $243 and now got the $300 DRA ticket. My question is, will my license be suspended? And if so, for how long/are there any alternatives to get the suspension lifted?
    Thanks

    Reply
    • Brian G,

      Because you have a PA license, you need to check with a PA traffic lawyer regarding the affects of a NY speeding conviction while holding a junior PA license.

      Good luck!

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I got a DRA for tickets in 2008. Is that even allowed? I dont even remeber getting those and have no way of verifying it atvthis time. Dmv only shows records for last 18 months. Ia there a statute of limitatatuon on DRA?

    Reply
  • HEY, I RECEIVED A DRA IN THE MAIL… THE TOTAL AMOUNT IS $600, I PAID THE MINIMUN DUE WHICH IS $200. SO MY QUESTION IS WHEN WILL MY NEXT PAYMENT BE DUE.. AND I MADE THE PAYMENT TODAY BTW 3/10/2016. THANK YOU

    Reply
  • I had a failure to yield right ticket that got dismissed and I just had to pay a 88 dollar court fee how did I still get points on my lic if the ticket was dismissed?

    Reply
    • Brian,

      This makes no sense. You need to run your record and see what it says. This will answer your question (or possibly reveal that a mistake was made).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • adina constantinescu
    February 19, 2016 6:54 pm

    Hello Matthew

    I’m from California and my driver license is from Ca as well. I drive often in NY due to my job and i’ve got 2 tickets. One for cellphone which i paid right away and the second one last year for improper turn in Manhattan where the cop gave me 2 tickets at once. I went to Court as not guilty and the judge dismissed one and the second one he asked me to pay only$50.
    My friend from NY just received in his mailbox a Driver Responsibility Assessment Statement under my name and i have no idea what is it. The cops due to the fact i’m from Cali they said they cannot take points on my Driver License ,but yet on the Driver responsibility it says 7points. Can you tell me what should i do? Do i have to pay even though i’m not from NY and i might drive there once every few months?
    Adina

    Reply
    • Adina Constantinescu,

      You should re-read this post. It clearly explains what the Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee is and how it works. You must pay the $375 and you do have 7 points on your New York record (even though you were using a CA license). If you do pay it, you will be suspended in NY and, then CA will be notified and honor the suspension. Therefore, you must pay it.

      Sorry.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hello I received a letter about my DRA and I lost paper I’m not sure what the due date was. Will the DMV send me another letter letting me know when my license will be suspened?

    Reply
  • Matthew,

    I’m a NJ resident. Months ago I was considering passing a slow car, and drove over a double yellow line, and sped up a bit to see if I could pass him. I was pulled over by a cop who seemed to hate me (beyond what was reasonable in the circumstances) and he gave me 2 tickets, one for speeding, and one for passing. I pled guilty to both. Those fees now total $436.

    In addition to that, I got a DRA fee totaling $825.

    Which is pretty insane. I suspect there is nothing I can do but pay the total ($1,261!!!), but hoping there’s some way you can help? I am a NJ resident.

    Reply
    • Josh Becker,

      It is late in the game as your already pled guilty to both tickets. You could make a motion to vacate your guilty pleas but, of course, there is no guarantee that it will be granted (especially given the lapse of time since your guilty plea).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Can you avoid the DRAF fee by delaying and pushing out the conviction date, or will the DRAF fee be applied retroactively?

    Reply
  • Hi,
    I have a NY license and I received a letter stating that I had DRAF due at end of last month. I paid the fee 3 days late. What are the consequences? What is the best course of action in order to avoid a suspension?

    Thanks,
    Joe

    Reply
  • Hi. I am a NY resident & have a NY driver license. I have got a speeding ticket in Quebec with 3 points. I paid off the penalty in Canada then later I’ve got a letter collecting $450 for DRAF stating that I have got 6 points from the Quebec ticket (In addition to 2 NY points of a previous ticket) I was 22 MPH over in Quebec over there it’s 3 points. Maybe in NY it’s 6 points. Is there any way I could fight it down to 3 points?

    Reply
    • MOses,

      Because you already plead guilty, it is unlikely that you can un-do the conviction. There is a process in NY to do so. I therefore assume that Quebec has a similar process to vacate a guilty plea. You should consult with a Quebec traffic lawyer.

      Good luck!

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I got 2 separate tickets. One for cell phone and another illegal right turn in NYC. I got an attorney and he messed up by not following up,. I was in process of moving from NYC to another State so I ended up pleading guilty to cell phone online.

    My question. I just paid $125 for its installment of Driver Assessment fee. I have tried to change my address but system will not let me as technically my DL is for Brooklyn NY but I live in GA now and have turned in my NYS State license. How do I proceed to get them to change my address so I can get my correspondence in GA? BTW system still hoses my NYS license as open.

    Reply
  • I have a question that I am trying to help my friend out to get answers to. My firend had gotten a DWAI, paid all his court fees, DMV fees, did the VIP and DDP courses and had gotten his license fully reinstated after 90 days. He actually blew under the legal limit of .08 which his was a .07.1 but they still gave him a charge. Had he known to get a better lawyer, he would have won. 3 Days later after getting his license fully reinstated he gets pulled over at night and arrested for a warrant and was held over night. Apparently the judge and the city court don’t bother to look at peoples information because the warrant was for not completing a DDP course which in fact he did and the D.A proved it so he was in my opinion illegally held. The night he was pulled over, it was by a police officer who he had a confrontation with at a private party which ended in a physical altercation between the off duty officer who was quite intoxicated and my cousin who is a State Trooper and was off duty as well coming to give my friend a ride home from the place they were at. The off duty officer antagonized my friend for over an hour until my cousin came to get him and then the altercation happened. He ended up having to get a court appointed attorney who did a plea deal without the agreement of my friend. My friend did not drink that night he was pulled over by this officer, he had actually left work and I tried telling this to the judge because I was with him and we work at the same place. The court appointed attorney had agreed to a DWI charge with the D.A without talking to my friend who would have told him no way. He also told my friend he could not help him even thou he refused a chemical test because and there was no blood or urine test done and he couldn’t help because of his prior which he should not have been charged in the first place. He basically was railroaded from start to finish. He could not afford to get an attorney to fight these b.s charges and now he is still trying to get his license back. The DMV is trying to over charge him for his fees. The MV 1118 form he had received including the paper work from Albany says because of the chemical refusal test his fine is $750 and because of the mess with the court his DRA is also $750 He has paid a total of $1250. The DMV had told him the $1,000 was for the refusal and that he owed $250 still so he paid that yesterday. They are now saying that the $1250 was for the DRA and he still owes $750 for the chemical test refusal. Everything including his driver abstract that he had gotten from the State Troopers Barracks all conflict with what they are now saying. His DRA suspension was cleared when he paid $1,000 and so was another thing cleared when he paid the $250 Everywhere we have read and looked at as far as the DMV fees and the laws go, the maximum penalty for a DWI 1st offence is $750 he had no other tickets. He has paid a total of $1250, according to what the DMV papers he received, his driver abstract and what the DMV online information says is that $750 for a chemical test + $750 for a DWI 1st offence = $1500. Any information you can help out with. If I have to I told him I will hire a lawyer for him from Syracuse who will be more than willing to take it to Albany. He has been railroaded for long enough and he needs to get this taken care of so he can get his license transferred to Virginia where he is living now.

    Reply
    • Sam,

      I could not possibly answer this lengthy and complicated question with the limited information provided. I can tell you that DMV basically does not make mistakes regardless DRAF fees. They are all assessed based on software in the system so I seriously doubt that your friend was overcharged.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hi,
    I am a PA resident and have not held a license in/been a resident in NYS for 4-5 years. So I had gotten 2 speeding tickets in NYS(which I paid within the deadline), both within 18 months of one another, and NYS DMV sent me a DRAF to my old address in NY(again haven’t been there in 4-5 years). The DRAF not on was sent to my old address, but my license # from my old expires NYS license was used as an identifier.

    In addition to this, I just found this out this week, yet they expected the payment to be back in October of this year. So my questions to you are:

    1. Will failure to pay the fine result in more serious consequences if I ever end up traveling through NYS?

    2. Would they add addition charges for not paying by the deadline, even though it was sent to the wrong address?

    3. If the DRAF is really giving me problems, and knowing that I am an out-of-state resident, would there be any success in trying to contest this fine?

    Thanks!

    Jon

    Reply
    • Jon,

      Answers in bold after each of your questions below.

      1. Will failure to pay the fine result in more serious consequences if I ever end up traveling through NYS? Yes, your privilege to drive in NY will be suspended, and PA will eventually honor NY’s suspension in PA. You need to pay it ASAP along with any Suspension Termination Fees.

      2. Would they add addition charges for not paying by the deadline, even though it was sent to the wrong address? Yes, you will have to pay a Suspension Termination Fee for each ticket.

      3. If the DRAF is really giving me problems, and knowing that I am an out-of-state resident, would there be any success in trying to contest this fine? The only way to avoid the DRAF is being fighting the underlying case and getting it dismissed or reduced to less than 6 points but, in your case, it may be too late. Check with the court in which your case was resolved.

      Good luck

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I never received a DRAF notice after my ticket for going 85 in a 65. I did how ever receive a letter last week saying that my license will be suspended if I did not the DRAF Fee by Nov 10th. After doing some research i found out my ticket should have been a 4 point ticket and somehow I was given 6 points. But, so i didn’t lose my license here in NJ and get wrongfully detained. I paid the ticket off hoping to find out how any of this is possible and how to less than probably get my defrauded money back.

    Reply
  • My husband got tickets back in 2012, and recently went to court for them and has to pay $260 with no points added on his license. A week later he got a driver responsibility assessment paper stating that he has to pay an additional $300 plus they added 6 points on his license. Is there a way he can appeal the DRAF? Also does he pay that on top of the $260 from the court. He has a New York state driver license and we live in New jersey.

    Reply
  • Got 8 points doing 96/65 in Cortland.am going to pay my DRAF annualy,i got a texas license will nys report or pass my points to texas dps. and if it takes 18 months without violation to erase that 8 points will that count start on the date of the violation or after the year I finish paying my annual DRAF. THANKS

    Reply
  • I received a ticket before i applied for my license in NY state. I paid the fine of $600 to the court. However, after receiving my learner’s license I got a DRA of $600 again. Is this over and above the court fine ? And if yes then why, didn’t I pay the previous fine to the new york DMV as well.

    Reply
  • Michele Muscari
    August 3, 2015 1:31 am

    My son, age 19, has a PA DRIVERS LICENSE. He has never had a ticket in any state until today. Today, he received a speeding ticket near Cortland County NY. 89mph in a 65 mph zone. The ticket does not say what the fine is. He is a full time student in Europe and leaves in one week. He won’t be back in the USA until June 2016. We are trying to resolve this before his departure. Here are my questions:

    1. How can we find out the fine? Is a fine his only punishment? Will he be required to appear somewhere? The ticket says to respond by mail.
    2. Will he have to pay the $300 Driver Assessment Fee (DAF)?
    3 Will he receive a separate bill for the DAF if he is responsible for it?
    4. Will he receive points on his license in PA?
    5. Will his insurance company be notified?

    Thank you.

    Reply
    • Michele Muscari,

      Answers follow your questions below:
      1. How can we find out the fine? Is a fine his only punishment? Will he be required to appear somewhere? The fine is set by the judge and will be roughly $200.
      2. Will he have to pay the $300 Driver Assessment Fee (DAF)? Yes.
      3 Will he receive a separate bill for the DAF if he is responsible for it? Yes, 30 days later.
      4. Will he receive points on his license in PA? No.
      5. Will his insurance company be notified? Yes.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Isn’t this double dipping. MY MOTHER received the DAF for me. First off this is a third party privacy issue. My parents have nothing to do with the ticket and I haven’t lived in the state for over 20 years. So nys sent my parents the DAF. Nice a speeding ticket that was $220 and then this fee is $300. ??? Double dipping! Violation of privacy! Very confused as to why this is ok?

    Reply
  • Hello,

    I have a Ontario Drivers license. I recently got pulled over in NY for turning left on a red light. I also got a ticket because 2 kids under 16 didnt have a seatbelt and a kid who didnt have his own seat. Just last week, I got a DRA sent through the mail. Will my Ontario license get suspended if I dont pay for it or only in NY? Please advise ASAP as my statement date is due Aug, 8 2015. Thanks

    Reply
    • Jason,

      If you do not pay your NY tickets, then your privilege to drive in NY will be suspended and, then, Ontario will eventually honor the suspension (until cleared in NY and Ontario).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hi Matthew,

    After paying a fine of $260 to the court, I received the DRA statement. I do not have any United States license and was driving a rental car on my International driving license.

    I’m not staying in United States and maybe would come back for vacation sometime in next 5 years. Maybe rent a car on international license again.

    Am I required to the fine ?

    Thanks

    Reply
    • Joy,

      Yes, to avoid being in violation of NY law, you should pay the Driver Assessment Fee. If you do not, your privilege to drive in NY will be suspended indefinitely and that suspension will be honored throughout most of the United States.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • What if I can’t afford to pay the minimum for drivers assessment?

    Reply
    • LIsa,

      If you do not timely pay the Driver Assessment Fee, then you license or privilege to drive in NY will be suspended. Other states will honor this suspension.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • It is a known fact that the point total is calculated based on the date of the violation, and not the date of conviction. Does this mean that if the hearing is postponed long enough (>18 months), and the driver is still convicted, he can avoid the DRAF?

    Reply
    • Eugene Kim,

      Good question! No, you cannot avoid the DRAF by delaying a traffic ticket case. This is because, upon conviction, the court retroactively will calculate points based on your date of offense.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I got a $450 drivers assessment. However, I am no longer living in the US and will not come back for at least 5 years. I have also missed the first payment installment so I guess my license is already suspended. I might return after 5 years. Is it worth paying the driver’s assessment? Will my suspension automatically be lifted after a long time of 5 years?

    Reply
    • Wesley,

      My advice is to pay this fee as soon as possible. You will also have to pay a Suspension Termination Fee which should be paid as soon as possible too.

      You can pay this online.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I got cellphone violation ticket (5point) on 1/20/2014, and got another one (5point) 6/3/2015. I knew that I have to pay DRAF for 3 years because of 10 points in 18 months.
    If I get another ticket (for instance, 3 points one) Oct/2015, how DRAF will be calculated?
    5 + 5 + 3? or 5 + 3 because first 5 points are expired?

    Thank you in advance.

    Reply
  • If I don’t want to drive any more, do I have to pay the fee now? Or can I pay it once I change my mind in about 2-3 years.

    Thanks

    Reply
  • I was living at Florida at the time and got a speeding ticket in Staten Island. I paid the ticket and never noticed about that assessment fee. I came back a few weeks ago and got into a fender bender. When the officer reviewed my license it showed up suspended. So I got arrested and then I have a court date coming up. What do I expect would happen? I never been arrested for anything before. Thank you for your advise

    Reply
    • Jose,

      You need to clear up your old suspension before the court date. If you do, your traffic lawyer can likely get this reduced to a non=criminal result.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hi i live in south carolina and have for 2 years now and ny state just send me a draf. This accident happened more than 3 years ago and they just sent it now, is that even legal? Also do i have to pay it since i don’t live there and do not have a ny state license?

    Reply
  • I have a NJ drivers license – it was clean until I got a 6 point ticket for speeding in NYC. So, I paid the $195 fine. however, was out off country for vacation and I missed to pay the $300 assessment fee on time, received suspension of NY privilege. paid in full after 10 days of the due date. Now what the other options I have to lift the suspension ?

    Reply
  • I have a 600 fee for 2 phone tickets, However im leaving the country for 6 months shortly. If i dont pay the fee is the license suspension permanent or can i just wait a few months and pay the suspension fee instead? thank you

    Reply
    • Dale Speer,

      Pay it now. If you don’t pay it, then you license or privilege to drive in NY will be suspended which will hurt your insurance. You will also have to pay an extra fee called the Suspension Termination Fee in order to lift the suspension.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hi Matthew Weiss,
    I have a Driver Assessment Fee of $675 and my license is suspended in New York state. I really don’t care about the price of the fee. The problem is I don’t have the time to go to New York from Connecticut to pay the fee due to the fact I am in school and working a full and part time job. Is there any way I can pay the fee online even if I don’t have a New York driver’s license?

    Reply
  • Christopher Walters
    March 26, 2014 1:10 pm

    I just paid off my DRAF for a bunch of tickets from 2008 (I’ve been unlicensed and off the road since 2009). However, a ticket from 2005 showed up months later while I was trying to get my license back, I pad the ticket (driving on shoulder, I think it was reduced form something else but I don’t recall what) and now I have a new letter saying I owe $150 to the DRAF for it? A. If I just paid it for everything else why am I being hit again, B if the date of the offense is 2005 and the conviction is 2009, why am I being told to pay for it in 2014? C, is there a phone number for this group? D. I thought 6 points and $300 was the minimum. I’m not meeting either of those minimums for this.

    Reply
    • Christopher,

      The new DRAF is showing up now because you only recently paid the 2005 ticket. You aren’t charged a DRAF until you a found or plead guilty. In regard to calculating the amount, I’m sure the DMV has gotten it right but you can visit any DMV location to get a copy of your license and add up your points.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hey Matt,

    I received a $300 assessment fee on my Maryland license driving in NY, and I have since moved to California and got a California license. Do i still need to pay the fine? Does it matter that NY will suspend my license? And what do full time students like me do if they simply don’t have the money to pay? Is there some judge who one can petition to reduce the amount?

    Reply
    • Shuki Greer,

      Yes, you must pay this fee. CA and MD would both honor a NY suspension.

      This amount is not reducible but you should be pay to pay the $300 in $100 annual installment. Read the letter from DMV discussing your obligation to pay this fee.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • My boyfriend has a suspended license (dwi and unpaid tickets going back as far as 2005) and we are trying to fix it. when i look it up it says he has a permanent suspension what does that mean? He can never get it back? Also his minimum due on driver assessment is $2750 and his full is $3000 why can’t we pay the $1000 a yr for 3 yrs? Is there any way to talk to someone for this option?

    Reply
    • Shawna M,

      I doubt that he has a “permanent” suspension. A good NY traffic lawyer could likely clear the suspensions. In regard to the payment of the Driver Assessment Fee, he likely has to pay it in full because it has been due for more than 3 years old.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I have had former driving students come in to my defensive driving class. After trying to get a Florida Lic. And be turned away because they owed NYS DMV. For pass tickets. It doesn’t matter if you are a NY driver or from another state. Speeding is still dangerous. Why is it some drivers break the laws and then cry about the penalties . Obey the laws and there would be no fines. Each state honors the fines from other states. A suspension in another state can carry to another state.

    Reply
    • Patrick K,

      You are right. A NY suspension will be honored in almost every other state. There is often a lag, however (i.e., a NY suspension will not result in a out-of=state suspension immediately but only after some period of time).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I am licensed in MA, had my first speeding ticket ever (after 25 years of clean driving record) in NY in a speed trap, I couldn’t go back and travel to fight the ticket. I plead gilty and paid the ticket not knowing anything about this DRA. I got a letter from NY DMV with $300 assessment, I paid it. Will NY report those points to MA or only report ticket itself?

    Reply
    • Sam Sade,

      Yes, NY will report convictions to MA, and MA will treat the charge as if it occurred in MA. You can try and vacate your guilty plea in NY. This is the only thing you can do (other than just taking your lumps).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Does ny state dmv dra assessment go by violation date or conviction date? I have a large dra for tickets from 07/17/08 to 10/31/09 (violation dates) – 16 pts. Howeve;, according to conviction date, I have two speeding tickets listed on my assessment that are over 18 months apart and I was still charged a fee for each (10/14/08 and 05/20/10)? I lost my job due to this and paid thousands of dollars out for lawyers and court fines. I did not have enough money left over to pay a 1200 dollar dra and have gone without a license since 2009. I am now reinstating my license so I can work again and my dra is now 1600 for the prior 3 year assessment due in full. My two sons are the ones who are suffering from this and I can’t wait to get reinstated so I can get a good job again!

    Reply
  • Hi Mr. Weiss,
    I received the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment of $450 dollars and paid it all off at once. What happens to my points? Are they reset? If not, how do I reset / lower the amount of points I have? What happens if I get more points from for example, a speeding ticket? How long does it take for the points to reset?

    Reply
    • Eric,

      Payment of the Driver Assessment Fee does NOT reset your points. Points last for 18 months from the date of offense (and then drop off).

      The only other way to “lose” points is to take the NY Driver Safety Class. It deducts 4 points from your license for DMV purposes (but not for Driver Assessment Fee purposes).

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • May 6, 2013

    Dear Mr Weiss:

    I was issued a Driver Responsibility Assessment Statement to the tune of $300.00 i.e. a 6 point violation (speeding plus not using turn signal). I have a Maryland Driver Licensce and have never held a New York Driver Licensce. What are the consequences to me for not paying this fee? Thanks.

    David Pee

    Reply
    • David,

      The fee must be paid even though you are from out-of-state. Anyone who accumulates 6 (or more) NY points must pay it. If you fail to pay it, New York will suspended your privilege to drive here and Maryland will (eventually) honor it. You will have to pay a suspension termination fee to lift any NY suspension and you’re insurance could be negatively impacted.

      Bottom line: You should pay this fee to avoid a lot of bad consequences.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Hi, I was charged $300 for the DRA fee couple months ago when I accumulated 6 points on my driver’s record, and I paid in full at that time. I am aware of the fact that any points beyond the first 6 points will cost me another $75 per point, thus I took the defensive driving course on January 18th, 2013 in order to prevent my points go beyond the 6 points. Until recently, I was convicted for a two point violation on March 19th, 2013. In theory, with the completion of the defensive driving course, there should only be 2 points counting against me on my record. But after the recently convicted violation, the total points that count against me should be 4 points. However, I am still billed for $150 for the 2 points that was added to my record recently. Am I misunderstanding something here? Please clear my confusion.

    Reply
    • KwokHin Poon,

      I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news but you get 4 points off your record when you take the NY Driver Safety Class for purposes of whether you will be suspended, but you do NOT get 4 points off for purposes of whether you owe the Driver Assessment Fee.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • I’ve been trying to do a little legal research and found asking someone for advice is likely going to be a better use of my time. I feel like its an odd situation and wanted to get some advice before I just go ahead and pay.

    I was looking into a charge I recently received from NYS DMW. I found that when you accumulate 6 or more points on your license you fall into the NYS Driver Responsibility Assessment which charges you an additional $300 for holding 6 or more points on your record.

    The funny thing is I’m being billed on a statement dated 3/28/2013 for payment due on 4/27/2013 but for violations dated 7/5/2006 for 2 points and 6/27/2007 for 4 points. I paid for my driving record to look into the listed violations and turns out they are no longer listed on my record from NYS DMV. Is there a statute of limitations for payment to the DMV? Can they be charging me for points that they no longer count against me? With violations from 5.5 and 6.5 years ago do they still have the right to charge me? I get that the DMV is slow on things, but why wait for Obama’s second term to get the paper work together.

    I have a valid NYS Drivers License and I currently carry 4 points from a speeding ticket in 2011 the only noted violation on my record. To my knowledge NYS statute of limitations is 6 years or less.

    Reply
    • Jeff,

      Unfortunately, DMV can still charge you the Driver Assessment Fee for these old violations. There are a few reasons why there was a delay but none will get you out of paying the fee.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • Michael Rick
    March 26, 2013 6:10 pm

    I just got pulled over today by a jealous cop who acted like a complete animal towards me because I was driving a Ferrari. He gave me a ticket for 75/50 zone. I literally had the car out for 5 minutes. I haven’t driven this car all winter wasn’t looking to race it or speed in it, just entering the highway you cant even feel 75 in these cars. I’m not even sure I was even doing the speed he says, it sounds like he just did that so I’d have 6 points and have to pay this fee. How do I qualify for a Driver responsibilty assessment? Its an absolute insult to me since I am a professional driver. Is there no way to fight this? Its not the money its the principal of the matter.

    Thanks,

    Reply
    • Michael Rick,

      At 6 points, you are subject to the Driver Assessment Fee. However, if you plead not guilty, you may be able to save this fee. How you fight this ticket depends on a few variables including which court your case is located.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
  • What happens if I did not pay my DRA to the NYS DMV on time? Do they immediately suspend your license or do you have thirty days or something after the day it was due?

    Reply
  • Cayetano Valenzuela
    March 21, 2013 10:45 am

    Can I make the payment late? is there a late fee associated with it? My payment is already overdue.

    Reply
  • How do u get an irresponsible spoiled 17 year old to stop getting tickets when he still needs the car for school

    Reply
  • John Neumann
    March 9, 2013 7:15 pm

    I have a NJ drivers license – it was clean until I got a 6 point ticket for speeding in NYC. So, I paid the $195 fine. Now, they want the $300 from me and they say if I don’t pay it, the can suspend my NY License or remove the privilege of my getting a NYS permit. But, I don’t have a NYS permit and I have no plan to ever apply for one. So, if I don’t pay the $300 what will happen to me? Let’s say I am ticketed again. Can they do anything to me at that point?

    Thanks.

    Reply
    • John Neumann,

      If you don’t pay the $300 (known as the Driver Assessment Fee), New York will suspend you here and, then, New Jersey will honor that suspension. If you are caught driving in NY (or in NJ) will a suspended license, then you can be arrested. You, therefore, should timely pay it. Sorry.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply
      • John Neumann
        March 9, 2013 7:49 pm

        Thanks Matthew. The letter didn’t say anything about suspending an out state license. I haven’t had a NYS license in over 30 years and I guess the next thing I need to do is move further away from NYS which, to my knowledge, is the only state that practices this kind of extortion.

        Reply
        • John Neumann,

          Despite the letter’s silence on the effect on out-of-state drivers, you do have to pay this fee. By the way, New York is not the only state with a driver assessment fee (only it is not commonplace).

          Matthew Weiss

          Reply
  • Mar/2013
    Hi,
    I’m have a Connecticut license until I receive my MN license (moved to MN in Jan/2013 & it takes 6 weeks to get their license by mail). I got pulled over on RT90 (the Thruway) near the Town Of Chatham/Canaan, NY area. I was reportedly doing 84 in a 65 MPH zone.
    I’m going back to MN and can’t afford to fly back and can’t afford to pay the full fine amount or a Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee. What are my options?
    Thank you,
    Tom

    Reply
    • Tom,

      You are not subject to a Driver Assessment Fee for one 84/65 speeding ticket because this ticket only carries 4 points. You would be subject to this fee if you have other NY points (or in the future get more NY points). In any event, you can hire a traffic lawyer to appear for you if you cannot attend could.

      Matthew Weiss

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu